Geographical settlement
Historical references

Partnerships and Euroregions

Suceava County has partnership protocols with Schwaben region in GermanyAbruzzo in ItaliaCernauti and Ivano Frankivsk in UkraineMayenne and Nord Departments in France, with Drenthc province in Holland, with Silezia voivodeship in Poland, with Guizhou region in China and big steps are made in order to establish such relationships also with Leningrad Region in the Russian Federation.

In order to enlarge the existing sub regional connections, to encourage the transborder collaboration of the local public administrations, institutions, economic agents, non­governmental organizations in different areas of activity, to develop the new mechanisms of sub regional collaboration, in 1994 Suceava County adhered to the Carpatica Euroregion which includes Bihor, Botosani, Harghita, Maramures, Salaj si Satu Mare counties and also regions in Hungary and Ukraine and voivodeships in Poland. In 2000 the Euroregion Prutul de Sus was constituted and included Suceava and Botosani counties in Romania, Balti, Briceni, Edinet, Falesti, Glodeni, Ocnita, Singerei and Riscani districts in Republic of Moldova and also Cernauti si Ivano-Frankivsk regions in Ukraine.